MAE News

Wednesday, December 19, 2012

This year, the UCSD Microgravity Team has been accepted into NASA's Microgravity University program to pursue research involving biofuel combustion in near zero-gravity conditions. Microgravity University, or the Reduced Gravity Student Flight Opportunities Program, offers undergraduate student teams the opportunity to propose, design, and fly their own experiments aboard the "Vomit Comet" aircraft.

Wednesday, October 31, 2012

Dr. Frank Talke, Distinguished Professor of MAE, has received the 2012 ASME/ISPS Distinguished Institution Award for his dedication to the information storage and processing Systems Division and for excellence in research and contributions to the data storage industry.

Thursday, October 25, 2012

CARLOS F. COIMBRA knew from the outset that he would have to crack the code of clouds. As an engineering professor new to the University of California’s campus in Merced, he led a successful drive to get 15 percent of the school’s power from an array of solar panels.

 But clouds, wandering and capricious, had foiled his efforts on two occasions by casting sudden shadows, forcing the school to rely on conventional power instead. To neutralize the clouds, he would have to track them.

Thursday, October 04, 2012

Dr. Scott Moura, a UC Presidential Postdoctoral Fellow, and Professor Miroslav Krstic received a highly competitive award from the Advanced Research Projects Agency – Energy (ARPA-E) to study battery estimation and control. The $4M award will fund research jointly performed between UCSD and industrial partners Robert Bosch LLC and Cobasys.

Thursday, September 20, 2012

Congratulations to Michael Baskes, Juan Lasheras and Robert Skelton for being elected into the National Academy of Engineering. 

“Election to the National Academy of Engineering is one of the highest professional honors accorded an engineer. I am very pleased that the research contributions of four engineers affiliated with the Jacobs School have been recognized by the academy this year,” said Frieder Seible, Dean of the Jacobs School of Engineering at UC San Diego.  (PDF Announcement)

Thursday, September 20, 2012

Marc Meyers was elected Corresponding Member of the Brazilian Academy of Sciences, in the domain of Engineering Sciences.  In the photo Marc Meyers is being congratulated by Dr. Marco Antonio Raupp, Minister of Science, Technology, and Innovation of Brazil, at the ceremony in which he was inducted into the Brazilian Academy of Sciences as a Corresponding Member.

Thursday, September 20, 2012

Alison is one of 7 San Diego women who is featured in the San Diego Union-Tribune.
She and others at UCSD are blazing trails for women in science:

Congratulations Alison!

Thursday, September 20, 2012

Dean Seible recently presented Eric Lauga with the Best MAE Teaching Award for 2011.

The Graduate Student Community Awards Selection Committee has also named Dr. Lauga a 2012 recipient of the Faculty Mentorship Award.

Congratulations Professor Lauga!

Thursday, September 20, 2012

Congratulations to Alison Marsden for receiving the National Science Foundation CAREER Award!


Thursday, September 20, 2012

San Diego, Calif., March 21, 2012 -- When President Obama visited the Copper Mountain Solar 1 Facility in Nevada Wednesday, he got a first-hand look at the first large-scale solar facility equipped with solar forecasting devices called sky imagers.  The devices are powered by sophisticated algorithms, which were developed by researchers at the University of California San Diego. The technology was funded by Sanyo Electric Corp., now Panasonic, the Department of Energy, California Energy Commission and California Public Utilities Commission.

Thursday, September 20, 2012

"The prize, awarded annually for outstanding research contributions in either theoretical or experimental Fluid Mechanics or both, will be presented at the 49th annual meeting of the Society at the Georgia Institute of Technology, October 10-12, 2012.

The Society of Engineering Science is an organization of leading engineers, scientists and mathematicians from around the world which focuses upon the interface between engineering, science and mathematics."