MAE News

Monday, November 09, 2015

James Friend received the Carl Hellmuth Hertz mid-career achievement award from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers at its annual International Ultrasonics Symposium held in Taipei Taiwan 20-24 October 2015,

"For substantial contributions to understanding the interactions between acoustic waves and fluids and the myriad applications arising from these interactions", in recognition of his years of effort in this discipline that has led to its establishment as a major research activity across the world.

Tuesday, October 13, 2015

One of the former students of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering Department has been featured in the CNN short documentary on fusion. Tammy is currently a staff scientist at the Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory (LLNL). While at UCSD, she was awarded the prestigious Lawrence Fellowship to pursue her research work at LLNL. She won the outstanding MAE graduate student award in 2010.  Professor Farhat Beg was her advisor.

Tuesday, October 13, 2015

Professor Marc Meyers receives the Albert Easton White Award,  "For inspired teaching for 45 years, and for leadership in the field of Materials Science and Engineering through research, organization of conferences and symposia, and writing textbooks used globally."

Tuesday, October 13, 2015

Professor Miroslav Krstic has been awarded Honorary Professorships at two universities in China. The Northeastern University in Shenyang is home to China’s #1 ranked College of Automation. The Chongqing University, in China’s seventh largest city (Chongqing has a population of over 17 million) also boasts a premier College of Automation with an enrollment of over 1,000 students and internationally prominent faculty.    

Friday, September 25, 2015

MAE is pleased to announce the MAE Student Award recipients for 2014-2015!

Wednesday, July 22, 2015

Drs. Dean Richert (PhD ’14, advisor J. Cortes) and Seung Hak Han (PhD ’15, advisor William McEneaney) have been selected as the inaugural recipients of the Robert E. Skelton Systems and Control Dissertation Award, established by the Cymer Center for Control Systems and Dynamics. The dissertation award, to be given annually, is established to honor the research contributions of doctoral alumni in the Center and in recognition of Bob Skelton for his legacy as the founder of the dynamic systems and control group in UCSD’s Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering.

Wednesday, June 17, 2015

Professor Bewley's former student, Dr. Chris Schmidt Wetekam, the first PhD graduate of the UCSD Coordinated Robotics Lab, and now a member of the Florida Institute for Human and Machine Cognition (IHMC), was an integral member of the IHMC Atlas team that placed second at the DARPA Robotics Challenge in Pomona, winning $1M in prize money.  23 teams teams competed.  More info here:

Thursday, May 07, 2015

Professor Sia Nemat-Nasser been selected as one of the 2014 – 2015 recipients of the Distinguished Teaching Award for Academic Senate Members. Congratulations!

Thursday, May 07, 2015

Alex Phan, a graduate student of Prof. Frank Talke in MAE was the winner of UC San Diego’s Grad SLAM, a graduate student competitive speaking event that showcases graduate student research. The Grad SLAM participants present their research in a manner that can be easily understood by the general public using three PowerPoint slides in a three-minute presentation. After taking first place at UC San Diego, Alex had the opportunity to compete in the first-ever UC system-wide Grad SLAM competition in Oakland.

Thursday, May 07, 2015

Liane Matthes, a doctorate student of Professor Frank Talke in the MAE Department, is the 2015 recipient of the Sheldon Schultz Prize for Excellence in Graduate Student Research. The Schultz Prize is intended to recognize graduate students in the Center for Magnetic Recording Research (CMRR) who have distinguished themselves through the creativity of their research and the impact of their publications. The selection of the recipient is based upon the recommendation of a committee consisting of CMRR faculty members, with input from selected experts in information storage technology.

Monday, March 23, 2015

Miroslav Krstic, Professor of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering and Associate Vice Chancellor for Research at the University of California, San Diego recently received an impressive gift for his 50th birthday.

Forty-six of his colleagues in the control theory and systems field – including the most prominent scholars and scientists in his area of specialty of nonlinear control and delay systems – dedicated a new 400-page special-issue volume in his honor.