MAE News

Monday, June 20, 2016

Nate Delson's MAE 3 students competed with robots that they designed and built themselves in the Robolympics.

Thursday, June 09, 2016

Congratulations to The Students for the Exploration and Development of Space (SEDS) Cubesat Team for placing third in a NASA satellite design competition.  Read this exciting story here.

Wednesday, May 25, 2016

Congratulations to Professor Frank Talke for being invited to join this prestigious academy!


Monday, April 11, 2016

Congratulations to William McEneaney who was recently elected a 2016 Fellow of the Society of Industrial and Applied Mathematics “for his distinguished contributions to the disciplines of applied mathematics, computational science and related fields.”

Thursday, March 10, 2016

The 2015 Engineering Design Graphics Division Chair's Award for Outstanding Technical Paper was awarded to Nate Delson and Lelli Van Den Einde for Tracking Student Engagement with a Touchscreen App for Spatial Visualization Training and Freehand Sketching

Thursday, March 10, 2016

Congratulations to Sungho Jin who is the recipient of the 2016 Acta Materialia Gold Medal.  This award recognizes undisputed world leaders who have demonstrated excellence and leadership in biomaterials, including basic science and translation to practice.

Thursday, March 03, 2016

The inaugural recipient of the MAE Distinguished Alumnus Award is Professor Carlos Fernandez-Pello (UC Berkeley) for contributions to advancing fire safety and combustion fundamentals. The inaugural recipients of the MAE Alumni Awards for Impact are Professor Mohammed Zikry (North Carolina State University) for contributions to computational mechanics and modeling and Dr. Bernhard Knigge for contributions to the increase in performance and storage density of hard disk drives. Awards will be presented at the MAE Alumni Awards Ceremony on Thursday, April 14, 2016.

Wednesday, February 10, 2016

Professor Thomas Bewley and his lab’s work in inspirational and educational robotics, developed in collaboration with WowWee, is featured in the "Leadership in Engineering” segment of the January 2016 issue of Design World magazine.  A link to the full story is available here:

Thursday, February 04, 2016

Congratulations to Professor Saintillan who was awarded MAE Teacher of the Year for the 2014-2015 Academic Year!

Thursday, January 14, 2016

A new project on the coordination of distributed energy resources that has MAE Prof. Sonia Martinez (as PI) and Prof. Jorge Cortes (as co-PI) has been selected for a competitive award of $2.34 million in funding from the U.S. Department of Energy’s Advanced Research Projects Agency-Energy (ARPA-E). Other team members include William Torre (CER, UC San Diego), Prof. Tajana Simunic-Rosing (CSE, UC San Diego), and Byron Washom (RMP, UC San Diego), Prof. Alejandro Dominguez (University of Illinois), and Prof. Peter Sauer (University of Illinois).