MAE News

Tuesday, November 29, 2016

Professor Beg's group won a UCOP Lab Fee Award to establish a Center in Frontiers in High Energy Density Science. The Center is a collaboration between five UC campuses and two national laboratories.

Tuesday, October 18, 2016

Professor Miroslav Krstic has received the biennial Henry M. Paynter Outstanding Investigator Award at the ASME Dynamic Systems and Control Conference.  This award is given by the Dynamic Systems and Control Division of ASME to a DSCD member who has demonstrated sustained outstanding research contributions, either basic or applied, as a mechanical engineering professional to fields of interest to the DSCD.


Tuesday, October 18, 2016

Each year the Charles Barrett Medal award honors a selected outstanding engineer, scientist or professor whose contribution has had a significant impact in the materials and metallurgy development.

Tuesday, September 27, 2016

San Diego, Calif., Sept. 7, 2016 -- A team of researchers has built a mathematical model that describes the molecular events associated with the beginning stage of learning and memory formation in the human brain.  Read more

Monday, June 20, 2016

Nate Delson's MAE 3 students competed with robots that they designed and built themselves in the Robolympics.

Thursday, June 09, 2016

Congratulations to The Students for the Exploration and Development of Space (SEDS) Cubesat Team for placing third in a NASA satellite design competition.  Read this exciting story here.

Wednesday, May 25, 2016

Congratulations to Professor Frank Talke for being invited to join this prestigious academy!


Monday, April 11, 2016

Congratulations to William McEneaney who was recently elected a 2016 Fellow of the Society of Industrial and Applied Mathematics “for his distinguished contributions to the disciplines of applied mathematics, computational science and related fields.”

Thursday, March 10, 2016

The 2015 Engineering Design Graphics Division Chair's Award for Outstanding Technical Paper was awarded to Nate Delson and Lelli Van Den Einde for Tracking Student Engagement with a Touchscreen App for Spatial Visualization Training and Freehand Sketching

Thursday, March 10, 2016

Congratulations to Sungho Jin who is the recipient of the 2016 Acta Materialia Gold Medal.  This award recognizes undisputed world leaders who have demonstrated excellence and leadership in biomaterials, including basic science and translation to practice.