MAE News

Thursday, May 07, 2015

Alex Phan, a graduate student of Prof. Frank Talke in MAE was the winner of UC San Diego’s Grad SLAM, a graduate student competitive speaking event that showcases graduate student research. The Grad SLAM participants present their research in a manner that can be easily understood by the general public using three PowerPoint slides in a three-minute presentation. After taking first place at UC San Diego, Alex had the opportunity to compete in the first-ever UC system-wide Grad SLAM competition in Oakland.

Thursday, May 07, 2015

Liane Matthes, a doctorate student of Professor Frank Talke in the MAE Department, is the 2015 recipient of the Sheldon Schultz Prize for Excellence in Graduate Student Research. The Schultz Prize is intended to recognize graduate students in the Center for Magnetic Recording Research (CMRR) who have distinguished themselves through the creativity of their research and the impact of their publications. The selection of the recipient is based upon the recommendation of a committee consisting of CMRR faculty members, with input from selected experts in information storage technology.

Monday, March 23, 2015

Miroslav Krstic, Professor of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering and Associate Vice Chancellor for Research at the University of California, San Diego recently received an impressive gift for his 50th birthday.

Forty-six of his colleagues in the control theory and systems field – including the most prominent scholars and scientists in his area of specialty of nonlinear control and delay systems – dedicated a new 400-page special-issue volume in his honor.

Monday, March 23, 2015

Professor Bewley of the UCSD Coordinated Robotics Lab was interviewed live on channel 8 (see the video here), in a promotional piece advertising for a talk he gave at the Scripps “Engineering & Our Oceans" open house on March 19 (see here).  Said Bewley, “We look at dynamics and control special way at UCSD, and enable bots to do amazing things.”

Monday, February 23, 2015

Dr. Padmini  Rangamani has been selected as a 2015 Alfred P. Sloan Research Fellow in Computational & Evolutionary Molecular Biology.  The Sloan Research Fellowships are extraordinarily competitive awards involving nominations for most of the very best early-career scientists from the United States and Canada.

Wednesday, January 21, 2015

The Texas A&M University Institute for Advanced Study (TIAS) selects Fellows from among leading international scholars, with current Fellows who are members of national academies, Nobel laureates, and National Medal of Science recipients. Professor Bob Skelton is one of this year’s seven TIAS Fellows and is spending a part of the year in College Station conducting collaborative research with TAMU faculty and students.

Wednesday, January 21, 2015

Congratulations to Padmini Rangamani who was selected as one of the 2015 Young Investigators Program awardees from the Air Force Office of Scientific Research on her proposal entitled, " Nanopore Formation in Lipid Bilayers: Insights from Mechanochemical Models".    Click here to read the press release.

Monday, January 12, 2015

Symposium on The Application of Mechanics to Geophysics
Supported by                                                      Co-Chairs:
The National Science Foundation                       Yuri Fialko and Xanthippi Markenscoff
& The Green Foundation

Wednesday, December 17, 2014

Professor Miroslav Krstic delivers a keynote lecture "PDE Control: Designs and Applications" at the flagship conference in control systems, IEEE Conference on Decision and Control, in Los Angeles California, on December 16, 2014, to an audience of about 1,400.

Krstic's lecture covered control design methods for nonlinear systems with delays and for systems modeled by partial differential equations, including examples of implementation of such methods in 3D printing, oil drilling, Lithium-ion batteries, and multi-vehicle deployment.


Tuesday, December 16, 2014

Election to NAI Fellow status is a high professional distinction accorded to academic inventors who have demonstrated a highly prolific spirit of innovation in creating or facilitating outstanding inventions that have made a tangible impact on quality of life, economic development, and the welfare of society. 

Tuesday, November 04, 2014

UC San Diego Mechanical Engineering Professor Renkun Chen spray paints a novel material designed that could significantly improve the cost competitiveness of solar energy by converting more than 90 percent of the sunlight it captures into heat.  Read More